Teriparatide
Also known as: PTH 1-34, PTH(1-34), rhPTH(1-34), recombinant human parathyroid hormone 1-34, Forteo, TPTD
Anabolic bone agent; recombinant human parathyroid hormone fragment (amino acids 1–34)
What it is
Teriparatide is the 1–34 amino-terminal fragment of endogenous parathyroid hormone (PTH). It binds to the PTH1 receptor (PTH1R) and, when administered intermittently, promotes bone formation over bone resorption through dual mechanisms: (1) direct stimulation of bone formation at active remodeling sites (remodeling-based bone formation) and on previously inactive bone surfaces (modeling-based bone formation), and (2) initiation of new remodeling sites. Relevant intracellular signaling pathways include Wnt signaling, cAMP/PKA, cAMP/PKC, and RANKL/RANK/OPG. PTH exerts osteogenic effects directly on mesenchymal stem cells, osteoblast-lineage cells, osteocytes, and T cells, and participates in osteoclast regulation indirectly via osteoclast precursor cells. In osteoarthritis models, teriparatide has been reported to antagonize TNF-α–mediated MMP-13 overexpression, thereby preventing synovitis and cartilage degradation. In ischemic cerebral infarction rat models, teriparatide promoted angiogenesis, inhibited oxidative stress and neuroinflammation, and protected the blood-brain barrier via AC/PKA signaling and upregulation of Ang-1 and Nrf2 expression. Continuous (rather than intermittent) administration promotes bone resorption rather than formation.
Class: Anabolic bone agent; recombinant human parathyroid hormone fragment (amino acids 1–34)
What it's studied for
- Postmenopausal osteoporosis – fracture risk reduction and BMD improvement Human RCT
- Teriparatide increases bone formation more than resorption; anti-fracture efficacy appears to increase with longer duration; full 24-month course recommended. PMID 26902094 Lindsay R et al. Osteoporosis Int 2016
- Meta-analysis of 14 RCTs: teriparatide associated with lower total vertebral fractures (RR 0.55, 95% CI 0.40–0.77) and nonvertebral fractures (RR 0.65, 95% CI 0.46–0.90) vs. bisphosphonates; improved BMD at lumbar spine and femoral neck. PMID 32282692 Fan G et al. Medicine 2020 (meta-analysis)
- Teriparatide associated with reduced vertebral fracture risk (RR 0.57, 95% CI 0.35–0.93) and increased lumbar spine BMD at 6, 12, 18 months vs. bisphosphonates. PMID 30890377 Yuan F et al. Int J Surg 2019 (meta-analysis)
- Teriparatide decreased clinical vertebral fractures (OR 1.97) and new vertebral fractures (OR 2.44) compared with bisphosphonates in postmenopausal osteoporosis; higher rate of treatment discontinuation due to AEs with teriparatide; higher rate of dizziness with teriparatide. PMID 38064598 Zhong Q et al. Altern Ther Health Med 2024 (meta-analysis of 5 RCTs)
- Generic teriparatide 20 µg sc daily non-inferior to alendronate 70 mg weekly for lumbar spine BMD change at 48 weeks in Chinese postmenopausal women; AEs more common with teriparatide including hypercalcemia, elevated ALP/PTH, dizziness, arthralgia. PMID 35900607 Li M et al. Arch Osteoporos 2022
- 10-year follow-up after ~18-month teriparatide treatment: fracture prevalence fell from 100% to 35% (p<0.0001), to levels similar to general population; BMD increased on treatment but returned to baseline at 10 years; HRQoL not improved by treatment. PMID 36424580 Kontogeorgos G et al. BMC Musculoskelet Disord 2022
- Glucocorticoid-induced osteoporosis (GIOP) – BMD improvement and fracture prevention Human RCT
- Teriparatide superior to bisphosphonates for lumbar vertebral BMD (MD 3.98%, p<0.00001), hip BMD (MD 2.39%), and vertebral fracture prevention in GIOP patients. PMID 37349750 Yuan C et al. J Orthop Surg Res 2023 (meta-analysis of 10 RCTs)
- In GIO subgroup, teriparatide showed larger BMD increases at lumbar spine, total hip, and femoral neck vs. bisphosphonates; GIO patients less likely to suffer vertebral fracture on teriparatide. PMID 28653616 Liu CL et al. Clin Invest Med 2017 (meta-analysis)
- Premenopausal idiopathic osteoporosis – sequential teriparatide then denosumab Human RCT
- In premenopausal women with idiopathic osteoporosis, sequential teriparatide (20 mcg daily for up to 24 months) then denosumab (60 mg q6M for 24 months) significantly improved tibial/radial vBMD, microarchitecture, cortical thickness, and whole-bone strength over 48 months. PMID 36335582 Agarwal S et al. J Bone Miner Res 2023
- Osteoporosis – sequential therapy (teriparatide as anabolic phase followed by antiresorptive) Human observational
- Real-world Medicare data: median teriparatide use 7.2 months; only 40.8% of users switched to antiresorptive agents after discontinuation; suboptimal persistence and sequencing observed. PMID 34490946 Liu J et al. J Bone Miner Res 2021
- Sequential therapy following once-weekly and daily teriparatide is recommended in osteoporosis guidelines for very high fracture risk patients. PMID 40119935 Mori S. J Bone Miner Metab 2025 (review)
- Switching from teriparatide to denosumab: spine BMD increased 18.3% at 48 months; switching from denosumab to teriparatide resulted in transient or progressive bone loss. Teriparatide-to-denosumab sequence produced sustained BMD gains. PMID 26144908 Leder BZ et al. Lancet 2015 (DATA-Switch RCT)
- Combination therapy: teriparatide + denosumab for postmenopausal osteoporosis Human RCT
- 24-month combined teriparatide (20 µg daily) + denosumab (60 mg q6M) increased lumbar spine BMD 12.9%, femoral neck 6.8%, total hip 6.3% — significantly more than either agent alone. PMID 24517156 Leder BZ et al. J Clin Endocrinol Metab 2014 (DATA Extension RCT)
- Spinal fusion surgery in osteoporotic patients – improving fusion rates and outcomes Mixed
- Meta-analysis of 12 studies (771 patients): teriparatide associated with significantly higher lumbar fusion rates (OR 2.15), reduced vertebral fractures (OR 0.16), and improved pain VAS vs. non-teriparatide group. PMID 32728969 Fatima N et al. Neurosurg Rev 2021 (meta-analysis)
- 19 studies: bisphosphonates had higher fusion rate (ES 83%) vs. teriparatide (ES 71%), non-significant difference; teriparatide associated with lower (non-significant) screw loosening rate. PMID 33030619 Tsai SHL et al. Arch Osteoporos 2020 (meta-analysis)
- Preclinical and early clinical studies show teriparatide increases spinal fusion rates and decreases hardware loosening in postmenopausal osteoporosis. PMID 27923758 Chaudhary N et al. World Neurosurg 2017 (review)
- Prevention of proximal junctional kyphosis/failure (PJK/PJF) after adult spinal deformity surgery Human RCT
- Perioperative teriparatide significantly reduced PJF incidence vs. denosumab (3.4% vs. 22.2%, p=0.034) and improved postoperative back pain VAS and EQ-5D in osteoporotic patients undergoing ASD surgery. PMID 40100350 Park JH et al. Osteoporos Int 2025 (RCT)
- 4-month preoperative teriparatide was cost-effective in osteopenic ASD surgery patients, favored in 82% of model iterations with negative incremental cost utility ratio. PMID 35797582 Raad M et al. Spine 2022 (cost-utility analysis)
- Hip fracture healing and bone union Mixed
- 12-week daily teriparatide after pertrochanteric fracture fixation significantly shortened mean radiographic union time (7.44 vs. 10.56 weeks, p=0.0083); no significant difference in clinical outcomes between groups. PMID 40461584 Tanavalee C et al. Sci Rep 2025 (RCT, n=50)
- Weekly teriparatide improved RUSH scores at 3 and 6 months post-hip fracture surgery and increased lumbar BMD >7% at 1 year. PMID 37529188 Lee SY et al. Clin Orthop Surg 2023 (RCT)
- Meta-analysis: teriparatide reduced time to union (WMD -1.95 months, p=0.003) but did not improve fracture union rate at 3 or 6 months, complications, mortality, or hip function vs. control. PMID 32904518 Han S et al. Biomed Res Int 2020 (meta-analysis)
- Fracture healing (general, non-hip) Mixed
- Significant improvement in functional outcomes post-fracture but no significant effect on radiographic healing time, fracture healing rate, or pain reduction; no apparent adverse effects. PMID 27997614 Shi Z et al. PLoS One 2016 (meta-analysis, 5 RCTs, n=380)
- Animal and limited human trial data suggest a role for teriparatide in improving fracture healing in selected patients; more clinical trial data needed. PMID 25363308 Campbell EJ et al. Expert Opin Biol Ther 2015 (review)
- Atypical femur fractures (AFF) – healing Human RCT
- Trend for superior healing with immediate vs. delayed teriparatide therapy for bisphosphonate-associated AFF; results require caution given small sample. PMID 29085957 Greenspan SL et al. Osteoporos Int 2018 (Fix-IT RCT, n=13)
- Retrospective study (n=59): no significant difference in time-to-bone union between teriparatide and non-teriparatide groups in complete AFF (5.8 vs. 5.5 months, p=0.359). PMID 38907093 Song G et al. Calcif Tissue Int 2024
- Medication-related osteonecrosis of the jaw (MRONJ) Mixed
- Clinical studies showed beneficial effects of intermittent rhPTH administration in management of MRONJ; short-term teriparatide may be worthwhile in therapy-resistant osteonecrosis; more RCTs needed. PMID 37695713 Gera I, Szücs N. Orv Hetil 2023 (review)
- Once-weekly teriparatide without surgical intervention successfully treated MRONJ around a dental implant in an 85-year-old woman. PMID 31429640 Kim JY et al. J Oral Implantol 2019 (case report)
- Hypoparathyroidism (adults) – PTH replacement via continuous infusion Human observational
- Subcutaneous infusion via Omnipod pump (mean dose 23–32 mcg/day) normalized calcemia in 2 adults with refractory postsurgical hypoparathyroidism after failure of conventional therapy and thrice-daily injections. PMID 34984624 Aouchiche K et al. Endocrine 2022 (2 cases + literature review)
- Hypoparathyroidism (children) – PTH replacement Human observational
- Teriparatide maintains serum calcium and significantly lowers serum phosphate (WMD -0.28) vs. conventional therapy in children with hypoparathyroidism; growth and BMD within normal ranges; conventional therapy remains first-line. PMID 42501079 Tantivit N, Punyawatthananukool S. Calcif Tissue Int 2026 (systematic review/meta-analysis, 18 studies, n=94)
- Osteoarthritis – cartilage and synovial protection Animal studies only
- In vivo studies: PTH(1-34) slowed OA progression by alleviating cartilage degeneration and subchondral bone remodeling; exhibited analgesic and anti-inflammatory effects. In vitro: increased chondrocyte proliferation and matrix synthesis, prevented apoptosis/hypertrophy. PMID 36609338 Li G et al. Arthritis Res Ther 2023 (systematic review, 33 studies)
- In DMM mouse model, teriparatide prevented synovitis and cartilage degradation by suppressing TNF-α–mediated MMP-13 overexpression. PMID 36537662 Liang X et al. Connect Tissue Res 2023
- Osteoporosis in patients with type 2 diabetes Human observational
- Teriparatide 20 µg/day sc up to 24 months: reduction in nonvertebral fracture incidence, BMD increases, and back pain decrease were similar in T2D and non-diabetic patients; diabetes was not a significant determinant of fracture outcome. PMID 27374026 Schwartz AV et al. Bone 2016 (DANCE post hoc, n=4042)
- Tuberculous spondylitis – adjunct bone anabolic support In vitro only
- In vitro Mtb-infected MG-63 cell model: teriparatide did not affect MIC of isoniazid/rifampin or anti-TB efficacy; promoted osteoblastic function (ALP-positive area increased 705% with combination, p=0.0031). PMID 36522387 Lee S et al. Sci Rep 2022
- Ischemic cerebral infarction – neuroprotection and angiogenesis Animal studies only
- Rat MCAO model: teriparatide promoted angiogenesis via AC/PKA/Ang-1, reduced infarct size, inhibited oxidative stress and neuroinflammation, and protected blood-brain barrier; preclinical only. PMID 35220030 Xiong M et al. Biomed Pharmacother 2022
- Targeted/novel delivery platforms for osteoporosis Animal studies only
- PPSA-based nano-polymersomes showed 72.2% drug entrapment, strong hydroxyapatite affinity (64.86%), and improved bone regeneration vs. free PTH1-34 in OVX rat model; promising platform for targeted delivery. PMID 41421791 Poorirani S et al. Nanomedicine 2026
Community-reported dosing
| Route | Dose | Frequency / Duration | Population / context | Source tier |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| subcutaneous injection | 20 µg subcutaneously daily | 48 weeks | human | Research PMID 35900607 |
| subcutaneous injection | 20 mcg daily | Mean 24 months (parent study); up to 30 months total teriparatide | human | Research PMID 36335582 |
| subcutaneous injection | 20 µg daily | 24 months | human | Research PMID 24517156 |
| subcutaneous injection | 20 mg daily (teriparatide arm) [note: abstract uses 'mg'; likely mcg per context] | 24 months (DATA) then 24 months (DATA-Switch) | human | Research PMID 26144908 |
| subcutaneous injection | 20 µg/day | Up to 24 months | human | Research PMID 27374026 |
| subcutaneous injection | 20 µg subcutaneously daily | Mean 18 months (range 14–24 months) | human | Research PMID 36424580 |
| subcutaneous injection | Daily teriparatide (dose not specified in abstract) | 12 weeks | human | Research PMID 40461584 |
| subcutaneous injection | Weekly teriparatide (dose not specified in abstract) | Up to 1 year | human | Research PMID 37529188 |
| Continuous subcutaneous infusion via Omnipod pump | Average 23 and 32 mcg/day (two patients); mean 25 ± 6 mcg/day across 15 literature cases | Not specified | human | Research PMID 34984624 |
| subcutaneous injection | 20 mcg subcutaneously daily (standard dose) | 3 months until discontinuation due to hypercalcemia | human | Research PMID 40500389 |
| subcutaneous injection | 20 mcg daily | 4 months | human | Research PMID 35893098 |
| subcutaneous injection | Once weekly (dose not specified in abstract) | Not specified | human | Research PMID 31429640 |
| subcutaneous injection | 20 μg subcutaneously daily | Up to 24 months | human | Research PMID 55819 |
| subcutaneous injection | 20 µg subcutaneously daily | Variable across studies | human | Research PMID 25138261 |
| subcutaneous injection | Not specified; lifetime maximum 24 months stated for US indication | 24 months (US lifetime maximum) | human | Research PMID 29996965 |
| in vitro cell culture | 100 ng/mL | 24 hours (pulsed, measured at 1, 3, 7 days) | in_vitro | Research PMID 36371341 |
| subcutaneous injection | 20 mcg | once daily | osteoporosis patients (primarily postmenopausal women and men with osteoporosis) using FDA-approved Forteo under medical supervision | [S] Claude Sonnet 4.6 — synthesized from aggregate training data |
| subcutaneous injection | 20 mcg | once daily | biohackers and athletes using pharmaceutical or research-grade PTH(1-34) for accelerated fracture or bone stress injury healing | [S] Claude Sonnet 4.6 — synthesized from aggregate training data |
| subcutaneous injection | 40 mcg | once daily | biohackers and performance-focused individuals seeking accelerated fracture repair or anabolic bone remodeling | [S] Claude Sonnet 4.6 — synthesized from aggregate training data |
| subcutaneous injection | 20 mcg | once daily | biohackers and longevity-focused individuals using PTH(1-34) cyclically for anabolic bone remodeling and general skeletal health | [S] Claude Sonnet 4.6 — synthesized from aggregate training data |
| subcutaneous injection | 20 mcg | once daily (morning) | post-menopausal women or men with low bone density stacking teriparatide with bisphosphonates or denosumab as follow-on therapy | [S] Claude Sonnet 4.6 — synthesized from aggregate training data |
| subcutaneous injection | 20 mcg | once daily | male bodybuilders or strength athletes using teriparatide off-label for tendon and ligament repair alongside other peptides (e.g. BPC-157, TB-500) | [S] Claude Sonnet 4.6 — synthesized from aggregate training data |
Tier key: Research = PMID-cited study · [C] = scraped community source · [S] = model-synthesized from aggregate community reports (softer evidence). How we source.
References
- [1] PMID 26902094 — Teriparatide increases bone formation more than resorption; anti-fracture efficacy appears to increase with longer duration; full 24-month course recommended.
- [2] PMID 32282692 — Meta-analysis of 14 RCTs: teriparatide associated with lower total vertebral fractures (RR 0.55, 95% CI 0.40–0.77) and nonvertebral fractures (RR 0.65, 95% CI 0
- [3] PMID 30890377 — Teriparatide associated with reduced vertebral fracture risk (RR 0.57, 95% CI 0.35–0.93) and increased lumbar spine BMD at 6, 12, 18 months vs. bisphosphonates.
- [4] PMID 38064598 — Teriparatide decreased clinical vertebral fractures (OR 1.97) and new vertebral fractures (OR 2.44) compared with bisphosphonates in postmenopausal osteoporosis
- [5] PMID 35900607 — Generic teriparatide 20 µg sc daily non-inferior to alendronate 70 mg weekly for lumbar spine BMD change at 48 weeks in Chinese postmenopausal women; AEs more c
- [6] PMID 36424580 — 10-year follow-up after ~18-month teriparatide treatment: fracture prevalence fell from 100% to 35% (p<0.0001), to levels similar to general population; BMD inc
- [7] PMID 37349750 — Teriparatide superior to bisphosphonates for lumbar vertebral BMD (MD 3.98%, p<0.00001), hip BMD (MD 2.39%), and vertebral fracture prevention in GIOP patients.
- [8] PMID 28653616 — In GIO subgroup, teriparatide showed larger BMD increases at lumbar spine, total hip, and femoral neck vs. bisphosphonates; GIO patients less likely to suffer v
- [9] PMID 36335582 — In premenopausal women with idiopathic osteoporosis, sequential teriparatide (20 mcg daily for up to 24 months) then denosumab (60 mg q6M for 24 months) signifi
- [10] PMID 34490946 — Real-world Medicare data: median teriparatide use 7.2 months; only 40.8% of users switched to antiresorptive agents after discontinuation; suboptimal persistenc
- [11] PMID 40119935 — Sequential therapy following once-weekly and daily teriparatide is recommended in osteoporosis guidelines for very high fracture risk patients.
- [12] PMID 26144908 — Switching from teriparatide to denosumab: spine BMD increased 18.3% at 48 months; switching from denosumab to teriparatide resulted in transient or progressive
- [13] PMID 24517156 — 24-month combined teriparatide (20 µg daily) + denosumab (60 mg q6M) increased lumbar spine BMD 12.9%, femoral neck 6.8%, total hip 6.3% — significantly more th
- [14] PMID 32728969 — Meta-analysis of 12 studies (771 patients): teriparatide associated with significantly higher lumbar fusion rates (OR 2.15), reduced vertebral fractures (OR 0.1
- [15] PMID 33030619 — 19 studies: bisphosphonates had higher fusion rate (ES 83%) vs. teriparatide (ES 71%), non-significant difference; teriparatide associated with lower (non-signi
- [16] PMID 27923758 — Preclinical and early clinical studies show teriparatide increases spinal fusion rates and decreases hardware loosening in postmenopausal osteoporosis.
- [17] PMID 40100350 — Perioperative teriparatide significantly reduced PJF incidence vs. denosumab (3.4% vs. 22.2%, p=0.034) and improved postoperative back pain VAS and EQ-5D in ost
- [18] PMID 35797582 — 4-month preoperative teriparatide was cost-effective in osteopenic ASD surgery patients, favored in 82% of model iterations with negative incremental cost utili
- [19] PMID 40461584 — 12-week daily teriparatide after pertrochanteric fracture fixation significantly shortened mean radiographic union time (7.44 vs. 10.56 weeks, p=0.0083); no sig
- [20] PMID 37529188 — Weekly teriparatide improved RUSH scores at 3 and 6 months post-hip fracture surgery and increased lumbar BMD >7% at 1 year.
- [21] PMID 32904518 — Meta-analysis: teriparatide reduced time to union (WMD -1.95 months, p=0.003) but did not improve fracture union rate at 3 or 6 months, complications, mortality
- [22] PMID 27997614 — Significant improvement in functional outcomes post-fracture but no significant effect on radiographic healing time, fracture healing rate, or pain reduction; n
- [23] PMID 25363308 — Animal and limited human trial data suggest a role for teriparatide in improving fracture healing in selected patients; more clinical trial data needed.
- [24] PMID 29085957 — Trend for superior healing with immediate vs. delayed teriparatide therapy for bisphosphonate-associated AFF; results require caution given small sample.
- [25] PMID 38907093 — Retrospective study (n=59): no significant difference in time-to-bone union between teriparatide and non-teriparatide groups in complete AFF (5.8 vs. 5.5 months
- [26] PMID 37695713 — Clinical studies showed beneficial effects of intermittent rhPTH administration in management of MRONJ; short-term teriparatide may be worthwhile in therapy-res
- [27] PMID 31429640 — Once-weekly teriparatide without surgical intervention successfully treated MRONJ around a dental implant in an 85-year-old woman.
- [28] PMID 34984624 — Subcutaneous infusion via Omnipod pump (mean dose 23–32 mcg/day) normalized calcemia in 2 adults with refractory postsurgical hypoparathyroidism after failure o
- [29] PMID 42501079 — Teriparatide maintains serum calcium and significantly lowers serum phosphate (WMD -0.28) vs. conventional therapy in children with hypoparathyroidism; growth a
- [30] PMID 36609338 — In vivo studies: PTH(1-34) slowed OA progression by alleviating cartilage degeneration and subchondral bone remodeling; exhibited analgesic and anti-inflammator
- [31] PMID 36537662 — In DMM mouse model, teriparatide prevented synovitis and cartilage degradation by suppressing TNF-α–mediated MMP-13 overexpression.
- [32] PMID 27374026 — Teriparatide 20 µg/day sc up to 24 months: reduction in nonvertebral fracture incidence, BMD increases, and back pain decrease were similar in T2D and non-diabe
- [33] PMID 36522387 — In vitro Mtb-infected MG-63 cell model: teriparatide did not affect MIC of isoniazid/rifampin or anti-TB efficacy; promoted osteoblastic function (ALP-positive
- [34] PMID 35220030 — Rat MCAO model: teriparatide promoted angiogenesis via AC/PKA/Ang-1, reduced infarct size, inhibited oxidative stress and neuroinflammation, and protected blood
- [35] PMID 41421791 — PPSA-based nano-polymersomes showed 72.2% drug entrapment, strong hydroxyapatite affinity (64.86%), and improved bone regeneration vs. free PTH1-34 in OVX rat m
- [36] PMID 40500389 — 20 mcg subcutaneously daily (standard dose) subcutaneous injection (human)
- [37] PMID 35893098 — 20 mcg daily subcutaneous injection (human)
- [38] PMID 55819 — 20 μg subcutaneously daily subcutaneous injection (human)
- [39] PMID 25138261 — 20 µg subcutaneously daily subcutaneous injection (human)
- [40] PMID 29996965 — Not specified; lifetime maximum 24 months stated for US indication subcutaneous injection (human)
- [41] PMID 36371341 — 100 ng/mL in vitro cell culture (in_vitro)
- [42] PMID 34224692 — in-prose reference